R.I.P. Harry Kalas

It’s been exactly one year since Harry Kalas passed away.  It really doesn’t seem possible that its been that long or that he is even gone.  I’ve listened to Harry Kalas my entire life.  I never knew anything else.  From the time I learned about the game of baseball and became a Phillies fan, I listened to Harry.  Harry was an amazing broadcaster and probably one of the finest in sports history.  He had a great voice for the game of baseball.  You could tell that he loved the game so much and loved every second of his job.  His passionate “swing and a long drive” calls were among my favorites.  Whenever I saw a home run ball launch off a bat, I just anticipated Harry saying that exact phrase.  It just seemed so natural to Harry and that’s what made it so special.  Harry was also a very kind human being.  I can’t tell you how many stories I’ve heard on sports talk radio from people saying that they met Harry and he would take the time to talk to anybody.  He loved his fans and was an incredible person.  While I haven’t been listening to him for over 30 years like many other Phillies fans, it almost is worse because I haven’t been around as long.  Older generations identified with Richie Asburn as well as Harry Kalas.  Ashburn was also a great announcer for the Phillies.  For me, Harry Kalas was all I ever knew.  For the 15 or so years of watching the Phillies, I looked forward to every game.  I just loved hearing “that ball’s outtttttttttttttaaaaaaaaaaaaa here.”  Harry’s trademark phrases were just so simple yet so entertaining.  I cherish every moment I heard Harry Kalas call and I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to listen to him.  Rest easy HK.

Leave a comment

Filed under Phillies

Leave a Reply

